Over Again

Over Again

If our faces catch a soaking,

our roots will also drink,

partaking of the precious dew,

oh, and how we’re growing.

I find I cannot blame

the winter’s falling rain,

for I, too, fall for you

over again each day.

 

If, as we stand sodden,

a whipping wind assails us,

at least our cries are carried off,

lo, and we’re renewed.

I find a kinship here,

in spring’s emboldened breezes,

for all my breath is yours,

over again each day.

 

If, as we dry our petals,

and brace against a gale,

the sun appears so scorching,

in fact, another gift has risen.

I find I can relate

to the summer’s loyal sun,

for I, too, wish to shine for you

over again each day.

 

A shower on the wind,

below the knowing sun,

these have touched our seed

and pulled us from the soil.

I find I understand

autumn’s waiting earth,

for I, too, lay in wait for you,

over again each day.

3 thoughts on “Over Again”

Leave a Reply

